Australian Open 2011 Wild Cards: Women

by Tennis Lessons Singapore on December 22, 2010

The 2011 Australian Open Women’s singles main draw is made up of 108 direct acceptances, 12 qualifiers and 8 wild cards. In this post we will keep you up-to-date with who receives the women’s wild cards for the 2011 Australian Open by adding each wild card recipient as soon as they are awarded

In order of when they were announced the 8 wild cards for the 2011 Australian Open Women’s singles main draw tournament are:

  1. Virginie Razzano – Roland Garros or FFT Reciprocal Wild Card
  2. Olivia Rogowska – Australians-only wild card play-off singles champion
  3. Lauren Davis – US Open or USTA Reciprocal Wild Card pictured above
  4. Jelena Dokic – TA Discretionary WC at 3:14pm on 23 December (runner-up to Rogowska)
  5. Alicia Molik – TA Discretionary WC Semi finals AO play-off & former Australian Open quarter finalist
  6. Kai-chen Chang – Asian wild card from Chinese Taipei.
  7. Sophie Ferguson – TA discretionary WC on 11 January
  8. Sally Peers – TA discretionary WC on 11 January

Reciprocal Wild Cards:

Three of the four Grand Slam tournaments have arranged a 3-way reciprocal arrangement whereby they all allocate a wild card to each other to use at their discretion. This means that all three of Tennis Australia (TA), the French Tennis Federation (*FFT) and the United States Tennis Association (USTA) set aside 2 Wild Card for their home Grand Slam in order to acquire 2 Wild Cards for their own use at the other 2 Grand Slam tournaments.

*FFT stands for Federation Francaise de Tennis or in English, the French Tennis Federation.

The Australians allocated their wild card to Jarmila Groth at Roland Garros in 2010 and Sophie Ferguson for the 2010 US Open. The USTA holds an 8-player knockout draw play-off with the winner of the Women’s Singles Final earning the USTA’s wild card into the Australian Open. The 8 players are chosen by the USTA and are not selected according to rankings. 17-year-old Lauren Davis won this US play-off on December 19 by defeating Coco Vandeweghe who won it the last year.

TA also holds a knockout play-off with the winner of the Women’s Singles Final earning a wild card into the Australian Open. There are 16 players in the Round Robin draw with 4 players in each group. The winner of each qualifies for the semi finals and from then on it is a knockout tournament. The Top 8 players are seeded according to ranking and separated into the groups respectively. Olivia Rogowska won the Australians-only play-off against Jelena Dokic who had a match point on December 19.

There are 5 more wild cards to be allocated. As soon as each one is awarded we will update you here straight away.

For more details about the 2011 Australian Open, the prize money and ranking points awarded for each round and the schedule of play for the entire tournament click here.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: robbiesaurus

Previous post:

Next post: