Australian Open 2014 Prize Money: Men

by Tennis Lessons Singapore on November 15, 2013

Novak Djokovic, Andre Agassi and Andy Murray at 2013 Australian OpenThe 2014 Australian Open men’s main draw singles event begins on Monday 13 January. The big match that every player wants to participate in – the Men’s Singles Final, will be played on Sunday 26 January.

In 2013, Andre Agassi presented the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup to Novak Djokovic in recognition of Agassi’s fourth and last Australian Open title a decade earlier.

In 2014, Pete Sampras will return to Melbourne Park for the first time since he last competed in 2002 to be honoured on the 20-year anniversary of his first title for the 2014 trophy presentation.

Below OnCourt Advantage details how the prize money is allocated for each round throughout the tournament to make it easier for you to follow the distribution of money.

On October 2, 2013 the Australian Open announced that it will offer record prize money of 33 million Australian Dollars (A$), being an increase of 3 million dollars and up by 7 million dollars in the past two years.

This is how the prize money is awarded for the 2014 men’s singles draw:

  1. The winner earns A$ 2,430,000;
  2. The runner-up earns A$ 1,215,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn A$ 500,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn A$ 250,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn A$ 125,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn A$ 71,000;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn A$ 45,500; and
  8. The 64 players who lose in the 1st round earn A$ 27,600.

© photo credit: HEAD Tennis

Previous post:

Next post: