Australian Open 2014 Men’s Schedule of Play

January 28, 2013

in Grand Slams: Australian Open

Novak Djokovic at the Australian OpenThe 2014 Australian Open men’s championships mark the 102nd time it will be held. The Australian Open Grand Slam tournament is being played on the True Blue Plexicushion hard courts at Melbourne Park for the 27th time since moving from Kooyong on natural grass courts, also in Melbourne, Australia. 

Below OnCourt Advantage details what the schedule of play is for every day i.e. what time play commences, which round is being played and if the men have a day off so you can follow, watch and/or attend this tournament.

The 25-year-old Novak Djokovic is pictured above with the Norman Brooks Challenge Cup trophy after winning in Melbourne for the third straight year.

The 1.88m Djokovic captured his sixth Grand Slam singles title in his 10th Grand Slam final by defeating Andy Murray 6-7 (2-7), 7-6 (7-3), 6-3, 6-2 in 3 hours and 40 minutes. 

This victory further improved the Serbian’s stellar career record at the Australian Open to 39-5 and equal Andre Agassi and Roger Federer with an Open-era men’s record of four singles titles.

The schedule of play for the 2014 Australian Open Men’s Singles event is:

  • Wednesday 8 January: Qualifying 1st round at 10am;
  • Thursday 9 January: Qualifying 1st round at 10am;
  • Friday 10 January: Qualifying 2nd round at 10am;
  • Saturday 11 January: Qualifying 3rd round at 10am;
  • Monday 13 January: Main Draw 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 14 January: 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 15 January: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 16 January: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Friday 17 January: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Saturday 18 January: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Sunday 19 January: Round of 16 from 11am and 7pm;
  • Monday 20 January: Round of 16 from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Tuesday 21 January: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Wednesday 22 January: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Thursday 23 January: 1st Semi Final at 7:30pm;
  • Friday 24 January: 2nd Semi Final at 7:30pm;
  • Saturday 25 January: No men’s matches today; and
  • Sunday 26 January: Men’s Singles Final at 7:30pm.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

© photo credit: HEAD Tennis

Previous post:

Next post: