Australian Open 2013 Women’s Wildcard Play-off

The 2013 Australian Open Women’s singles main draw allows eight wild cards to compete in the 128-player contest for women’s singles title. The wild cards are players who would otherwise not be able to play in the main draw because their singles ranking is not high enough to earn a spot as a direct acceptance in the main draw at the cut-off date. One of these wild cards will be awarded to the winner of the 2013 Australian Open women’s singles wild card play-offs conducted at the Australian Open tournament venue – Melbourne Park.

The schedule of play for the Australian Open Aussie-women-only wildcard play-off singles knockout tournament commences on Tuesday 11 December with all of the eight 1st round matches being played on courts 5 and 6.

There are 16 players in the draw so the player who earns the wildcard will need to win three straight best of three-set matches just as you would to win through the Australian Open women’s qualifying singles event. In comparison, the previous women’s wildcard play-off had four groups of four players who all played 3 matches each against the other three players in their group with the best performed player from each of the four groups qualifying for a semi final spot. From the semi finals onwards it then became a knockout event.

You can watch live streaming of these wildcard play-offs on-> the Australian Open YouTube channel commencing at 10am local time in Melbourne on Tuesday 11 December through to the singles final day on Sunday 16 December. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 3 hours from the Melbourne local time.

Pictured above is the current No.3 ranked Australian woman Olivia ROGOWSKA in the forward of this double-handed backhand at the 2012 Australian Open. The 21-year-old right-hander achieved her career high singles ranking to date of No.108 on 29 October 2012. The 1.75m Melburnian competed in all four Grand Slams in 2012 equalling her previous best of making the 2nd round of the main draw at Roland Garros in 2009 at the 2012 Australian Open.

Rogowska finished 2012 ranked at No.116 behind the highest and second highest ranked Australians Samantha Stosur (No.9) and Casey Dellacqua (No.101). Rogowska has been a top performer at the Australian Open wildcard play-offs playing off in the singles final for the past three years. She narrowly lost the 2010 wildcard playoff final after leading Casey Dellacqua 6–1, 5–2 and holding three match points. Rogowska won the 2011 wildcard after fighting back from 1–6, 1–3 down against former World No.4 Jelena Dokic to win 1–6, 7–6, 6–3. In the 2012 wildcard final Rogowska led 5–2 in the first set before Ashleigh Barty fought back and won 7–6, 6–2.

The 8 seeded players in the women’s wildcard play-off draw are:

  1. Olivia ROGOWSKA – WTA singles ranking: No.116, 21-year-old right-hander with 2nd round of the main draw in 2012 being her best AO result.
  2. Ashleigh BARTY – No.176, 16-year-old right-hander whose best AO result is playing the 1st round of the main draw in 2012.
  3. Monique ADAMCZAK - No.195, 29-year-old right-hander whose best AO result is winning through the qualifying into the main draw in 2007.
  4. Arina RODIONOVA – No.247, 22-year-old right-hander whose best AO result is making in the 2nd round of the main draw in 2011.
  5. Bojana BOBUSIC - No.334, 25-year-old right-hander whose best AO result is playing the 1st round of the main draw in 2012.
  6. Sally PEERS – No.341, 21-year-old right-hander whose best AO result is playing the 1st round of the main draw in 2011.
  7. Viktorija RAJICIC – No.410, 18-year-old right-hander whose best AO result is playing the 1st round of qualifying in 2010-12.
  8. Jessica MOORE – No.413, 22-year-old right-hander whose best AO result  is making the 2nd round of the main draw in 2008 and 2009.

© photo credit: Richard van loon

2 thoughts on “Australian Open 2013 Women’s Wildcard Play-off”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>