Australian Open 2013 Women’s Singles Draw

by Tennis Lessons Singapore on December 13, 2012

Maria SharapovaThe 2013 Australian Open main draw women’s singles matches will begin on Monday 14 January at 11am local time in Melbourne. In this post a number of interesting facts about the women’s singles main draw are provided, including when the draw is made, how the draw works, whom all the different types of participants are and how these are selected.

The 2013 Australian Open women’s singles draw has a 128-player draw consisting of 12 Qualifiers, 8 Wildcards and 108 Direct Acceptances of whom 32 become The Seeds. To work out when to watch the Australian Open tennis in Singapore subtract 3 hours from local Melbourne time.

The direct acceptances are the highest 108 ranked players in the world at the cut-off date who are fit enough to compete. The cut-off date is six weeks prior to the main draw commencing, so was 10 December 2012.

The official Australian Open main draw ceremony is being held on Friday 11 January at 10am at 10am at Crown Riverside, directly opposite the Melbourne Aquarium in Melbourne, Victoria. The 12 qualifiers names will be drawn and added to complete the draw on Sunday 13 January at 5pm. The full list of the women’s singles draw will be added here-> Australian Open 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: 1st Round as it happens.

The Seeds:

A seeding is allocated to the 32 highest ranked players according to the latest WTA rankings before the draw is made i.e. Monday 7 January 2012. There are 32 seeded players in a 128-player sized draw and they are separated in the draw so that they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents (unseeded players), before they meet another seed in the 3rd round.

If any of the seeded players withdraw after the draw has been made, then the 33rd highest ranked player becomes a seed, then the 34th player and so on. Full details about who the seeds will be and what number each player is seeded BEFORE it is even officially announced is covered here-> Australian Open 2013 Women’s Seeds.

The Wildcards:

All of the 8 wildcard recipients will be confirmed before Wednesday 9 January as the qualifying singles event will be drawn that day. The names of the wildcards must be removed from the participating players list in the qualifying singles event before the official draw commences.

Full details about how the wildcard system works, how they are chosen, who chooses them and the latest announcements of who each wildcard recipient is, is covered here-> Australian Open 2013 Women’s Wildcards.

The Qualifiers:

The 96-player qualifying tournament will begin on Thursday 10 January and run through to Saturday 12 January.

Full details about how the qualifying draw works, who the seeds and wildcards are, what prize money and ranking points qualifying players earn is covered here-> Australian Open 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: Qualifying. The full list of the women’s qualifying singles draw will be added here-> Australian Open 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: Qualifying 1st Round as it happens.

Lucky Losers:

When a main draw direct acceptance withdraws from the Australian Open after the first round of qualifying has been completed, that available spot in the draw is awarded to a lucky loser.

Any player that loses in the final round of qualifying and then signs-in for the singles main draw is eligible to receive a lucky loser spot into the main draw. The lucky loser spots are awarded in order of highest ranked player to the lowest, hence the term, despite losing they are lucky to still compete in the main draw.

© photo credit: Richard van loon

Previous post:

Next post: