Post image for Australian Open 2013 Women’s Schedule of Play

Australian Open 2013 Women’s Schedule of Play

by Tennis Lessons Singapore on January 28, 2012

The 2013 Australian Open tennis championship is the first Grand Slam singles tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour each year. To make it easier for YOU to follow, watch or attend this tournament OnCourt Advantage details how the WTA ranking points and prize money are allocated round-by-round plus what the schedule of play is for each day.

The 2013 Australian Open is the 101st time the tournament will be played. The chances of outdoing the fantastic success of the 2012 edition, which set a new tournament attendance record of 686,006 is really high as the event continually applies itself to look for better ways of doing things (that’s my kind of attitude!). To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 3 hours from the Melbourne local times listed below.

The women’s singles event begins one day after the men’s singles event begins and ends one day before the men’s event is scheduled to end. The first day that the women compete is on January 10 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 26 January.

The 2012 Australian Open women’s singles champion Victoria AZARENKA is pictured above with the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup Trophy. The 1.83m Azarenka won her first Grand Slam singles title by defeating 3-time Grand Slam singles champion Maria Sharapova 6-3 6-0 in 1 hour and 22 minutes in an incredibly impressive display after dropping the first two games of the match and trailing 0-30 in the third game.

The new World No.1 as of Monday 30 January 2012 became the first Belarusian to be ranked No.1 and win a Grand Slam singles title. Azarenka defeated the defending Australian Open champion and WTA hard court Queen Kim Clijsters in the semi finals. In the semis “Vika” in a great match her formerly fragile mental resolve really tested and with her comeback victory over No.8 seed Agnieszka Radwanska, she has shown great improvement in her self confidence and mental discipline.

The 22-year-old right hander won the Daphne Ackhurst Memorial Cup on Rod Laver Arena 7 years after winning the Junior Australian Open singles title after dropping only 20 games on route to the title. Coincidentally, Azarenka became the Junior ITF World No.1 the day after just as she has in the women’s game. Azarenka also won the Junior US Open singles title in 2005.

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day.

The WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + $2,430,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + $1,215,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + $500,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + $250,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + $125,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + $71,000;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + $45,500;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + $27,600.

The schedule of play for the 2013 Australian Open Women’s Singles event is:

  • Thursday 10 January: Qualifying 1st round at 10am;
  • Friday 11 January: Qualifying 1st and 2nd round at 10am;
  • Saturday 12 January: Qualifying 3rd round at 10am;
  • Monday 14 January: Main Draw 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Tuesday 15 January: 1st round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Wednesday 16 January: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Thursday 17 January: 2nd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Friday 18 January: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Saturday 19 January: 3rd round from 11am and 7pm;
  • Sunday 20 January: Round of 16 from 11am and 7pm;
  • Monday 21 January: Round of 16 from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Tuesday 22 January: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Wednesday 23 January: Quarter Finals from 11am and 7:30pm;
  • Thursday 24 January: Semi Finals back-to-back from 1:30pm;
  • Friday 25 January: No women’s matches today; and
  • Saturday 26 January: Women’s Singles Final at 7:30pm.

*The points awarded to a 1st round loser vary according to how they were allocated a place in the 1st round.

For further details about the different rankings points allocations for different situations for 1st round losers and for players who gain entry into the main draw from the qualifying event you will be able to click here once the following post is completed-> Australian Open 2013 Women’s Singles Draw: Qualifying.

© photo credit: Qatar Tennis Federation

Previous post:

Next post: