Australian Open 2012 Women’s Schedule of Play

by Tennis Lessons Singapore on September 21, 2011

The 2012 Australian Open tennis championships is the next Grand Slam singles tournament for the women’s professional tennis tour. “The Aussie Open” or “The Grand Slam of Asia/Pacific” as the Australian Open is also known, is held at Melbourne Park in Richmond on True Blue Plexicushion Prestige medium-paced hard courts. To watch the tennis in Singapore subtract 3 hours from the Melbourne local times listed below.

The women’s event begins on January 12 with the qualifying singles draw and the Women’s Singles Final will be played on Saturday 28 January. Since 1988 the Australian Open has been played on hard courts and it is the first of 4 Grand Slam tournaments played each year. The Australian Open was first held in 1905 and was played on natural grass courts through to 1987. The centre court at the Australian Open is called Rod Laver Arena.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. Click this link for details about how you can buy Australian Open Official tennis tickets you will also find full coverage of the Australian Open, including the entire tournament schedule of play, prize money and ranking points details at that link.

The total financial commitment for the 2011 Australian Open tournament was 23,140,000 Australian dollars with the total prize money for the women’s singles event being $10,000,000. Those figures were an increase of %3.8 as compared to 2010. The winner of the Women’s Singles Final at the 2012 Australian Open receives a record $2.3 million, which is an increase of $100,000 on the 2011 prize money.

The current Australian Open Women’s singles champion Kim CLIJSTERS is pictured above at the 2011 Australian Open displaying great body positioning due to greatest strength: her footwork, for this forehand ground stroke. The 1.74m Clijsters won her fourth Grand Slam singles title at the 2011 Australian Open by defeating 2011 Roland Garros singles champion Li Na 3-6, 6-3, 6-3 in 2 hours and 5 minutes.

Clijsters, a former World No.1 from Belgium won her 3rd US Open Singles title in 2010 after her 2009 and 2005 victories. The 28-year-old mother of one has indicated that she REALLY wants to compete in the 2012 London Olympics and has hinted that the 2012 US Open could be her final tournament before retiring for good from professional tennis.  

Please note that the tournament management can alter the schedule from day to day, in which case we will update them here straight away.

The WTA ranking points and prize money is awarded to the players like this:

  1. The winner earns 2,000 points + $2,300,000;
  2. The runner-up earns 1,400 points + $1,150,000;
  3. The two semi finalists earn 900 points + $420,000;
  4. The four quarter finalists earn 500 points + $210,000;
  5. The 8 players who lose in the round of 16 earn 280 points + $93,000;
  6. The 16 players who lose in the 3rd round earn 160 points + $54,500;
  7. The 32 players who lose in the 2nd round earn 100 points + $32,000;
  8. The *players who lose in the 1st round earn 5 points + $20,000.

The players who lose in the 1st round of the qualifying event earn $2,860 and 2 WTA ranking points. The players who lose in the 2nd round of qualifying earn $5,710 and 40 points. The players who lose in the 3rd round of qualifying earn $11,440 and 50 points.

*The players who qualify for the main draw and then lose the 1st round earn 60 points, whereas players, who start in the 1st round and lose their 1st match, only earn 5 points. Wild Card entrants who lose 1st round also receive 5 points.

From the 2nd round onwards any qualifiers earn the points allocated by round PLUS their 60 points for qualifying. A qualifier who wins the 1st round of the main draw and then gets knocked out in the 2nd round earns 100 points for making the 2nd round plus 60 points for qualifying, which means 160 points would be added to their ranking total.

The schedule of play for the 2012 Australian Open Women’s Singles event is:

  • Thursday 12 January: Qualifying 1st round at 10am;
  • Friday 13 January: Qualifying 1st and 2nd round at 10am;
  • Saturday 14 January: Qualifying 3rd round at 10am;
  • Monday 16 January: Main Draw 1st round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Tuesday 17 January: 1st round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Wednesday 18 January: 2nd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Thursday 19 January: 2nd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Friday 20 January: 3rd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Saturday 21 January: 3rd round from 11am & 7pm;
  • Sunday 22 January: Round of 16 from 11am & 7pm;
  • Monday 23 January: Round of 16 from 11am & 7:30pm;
  • Tuesday 24 January: Quarter Finals from 11am & 7:30pm;
  • Wednesday 25 January: Quarter Finals from 11am & 7:30pm;
  • Thursday 26 January: Semi Finals back-to-back from 1:30pm;
  • Friday 27 January: No women’s matches today; and
  • Saturday 28 January: Women’s Singles Final at 7:30pm.

OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

© photo credit: 6cab

Previous post:

Next post: