Australian Open 2011 Wild Cards: Men

by Tennis Lessons Singapore on December 21, 2010

The 2011 Australian Open Men’s singles main draw is made up of 104 direct acceptances, 16 qualifiers and 8 wild cards. In this post we will keep you up-to-date with who receives the men’s wild cards for the 2011 Australian Open.

In order of when they were announced the 8 wild cards for the 2011 Australian Open Men’s singles main draw tournament are:

  1. Benoit Paire – Roland Garros or FFT Reciprocal Wild Card
  2. Marinko Matosevic – Australians-only wild card play-off singles champion
  3. Ryan Harrison – US Open or USTA Reciprocal Wild Card
  4. Peter Luczak – Discretionary WC at 3:14pm on 23 December (runner-up to Matosevic)
  5. Matthew Ebden – Discretionary WC (WC play-off semi finalist & 2010 Australian Open qualifier)
  6. Somdev Devaarman – Asian wild card from India.
  7. Carsten Ball – TA discretionary WC on 11 January
  8. Bernard Tomic – TA discretionary WC on 11 January

Reciprocal Wild Cards:

Three of the four Grand Slam tournaments have arranged a 3-way reciprocal arrangement whereby they all allocate a wild card to each other to use at their discretion. This means that all three of Tennis Australia (TA), the French Tennis Federation (*FFT) and the United States Tennis Association (USTA) set aside 2 Wild Card for their home Grand Slam in order to acquire 2 Wild Cards for their own use at the other 2 Grand Slam tournaments.

*FFT stands for Federation Francaise de Tennis or in English, the French Tennis Federation.

The Australians allocated their wild card to Carsten Ball for both Roland Garros and the US Open in 2010. The USTA holds an 8-player knockout draw play-off with the winner of the Men’s Singles Final, which is a best of 5-set match earning the USTA’s wild card into the Australian Open. The 8 players are chosen by the USTA and are not selected according to rankings. Ryan Harrison won this US play-off on December 19 for the second straight year.

TA also holds a knockout play-off with the winner of the Men’s Singles Final, which is a best of 5-set match earning a wild card into the Australian Open. There are 24 players in the draw and the Top 8 players according to ranking are seeded, which gives them all a bye into the round of 16. Marinko Matosevic won the Australians-only play-off on December 19.

There are 5 more wild cards to be allocated. As soon as each one is awarded we will update you here straight away.

Discretionary Wild Cards:

Peter Luczak who lost to Matosevic in 5 sets in the final of the Australian men-only wild card play-off and is the highest Australian ranked outside the main draw cut-off seems very likely to receive a wild card. TA announced the Australian Davis Cup team today with Luczak, Matosevic, Ball, Matthew Ebden and Greg Jones, which tends to suggest that Ball and Ebden who was a semi finalist at the wild card play-off may lead the candidates for a wild card. Bernard Tomic is also in the mix after his performance at the 2010 Australian Open despite the cloud of controversy around him.

For more details about the 2011 Australian Open, the prize money and ranking points awarded for each round and the schedule of play for the entire tournament click here.

Stay tuned to this tennis website for full coverage of every Grand Slam tournament and every major women’s and men’s tennis tournament on the WTA Tour and ATP Tours. Click this link for further details about the Australian Open 2011: January 12-30.

© 2010

Creative Commons License photo credit: emmettanderson

Previous post:

Next post: