Marseille 2012 Men’s Singles Draw

by Tennis Lessons Singapore on February 21, 2012

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga at the Qatar Open

Jo-Wilfried TSONGA is looking to win his 2nd Marseille title after making the quarter finals in 2011. The French man has a great opportunity to set a new career-high ranking this week by improving from No.6 to No.5

The 2012 Marseille Open men’s main draw singles matches will begin on Monday 20 February at 3:30pm local time in Marseille, France. Marseille is one of 40 ATP Tour 250 category tournaments each year and the first of five each year played in France. There are 32 main draw spots divided up between 4 Qualifiers (Q), 3 Wild Cards (WC), 21 Direct Acceptances and 4 Byes. The official tournament name is Open 13.

Please leave a comment below this article regarding anything YOU would like to know about in tennis, have explained or suggest for me to write about here at OnCourt Advantage. Click this link for details about how you can buy Marseille Open Official tennis tickets and you will also find a directory to all of the OnCourt Advantage coverage of the Marseille Open.

The order of play will be listed in the comments section below this article, click here to go straight there-> Marseille Open schedule of play.

The official draw was held on Friday 17 February and as soon as the qualifying event is complete OnCourt Advantage will add the names of the four qualifiers into their allocated spots in the draw below.

The 8 seeds were ranked from World No.6 (Jo-Wilfried TSONGA) through to No.45 (Andreas SEPPI). The last direct acceptance into the main draw was Edouard ROGER-VASSELIN from France who was ranked No.101 at the cut-off date.

The Seeds: In a 32-player sized draw there are 8 seeded players. This means that all of the 8 seeds are separated in the draw so they play two rounds against lower ranked opponents who are unseeded, before they can meet another seed in the quarter finals. However, in Marseille there are 4 Byes, so one is awarded to each of the Top 4 seeds so they only need to play one lower ranked opponent to make it to the quarter finals.

The seeding is allocated to the 8 highest ranked players according to the latest ATP rankings BEFORE the draw is made. These latest rankings were released on Monday 13 February therefore the seeding can be worked out before it is officially announced.

The 2012 Marseille singles seeds are:

1-Jo-Wilfried TSONGA, 2-Mardy FISH, 3-Janko TIPSAREVIC, 4-Juan Martin DEL POTRO, 5-Richard GASQUET, 6-Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV, 7-Ivan LJUBICIC and 8-Andreas SEPPI.

If any of the seeded players withdraw before taking the court for their 1st round match another player will replace that seed. If a replacement seed is selected he would be the next highest ranked player from the direct acceptances i.e. Jarkko NIEMINEN.

The Wild Cards: were awarded to three French men: Arnaud CLEMENT, Florent SERRA and Paul HENRI-MATHIEU.

The Qualifiers: The 32-player qualifying tournament sets the task of winning 3 best-of-three tiebreak set matches in order to qualify for the main draw. These four players will have their names added here as soon as they win their final round of qualifying-> Roberto BAUTISTA-AGUT, David GOFFIN, Marco CHIUDINELLI and Albano OLIVETTI.

This is the draw for the seeded players IF they all win through to the quarter finals:

  • Jo-Wilfried TSONGA (1) v (8) Andreas SEPPI
  • Juan Martin DEL POTRO (4) v (5) Richard GASQUET
  • Ivan LJUBICIC (7) v (3) Janko TIPSAREVIC
  • Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (6) v (2) Mardy FISH

The 2012 Marseille Open men’s singles draw for the 1st round is:

  1. Jo-Wilfried TSONGA (1) v BYE
  2. Nicolas MAHUT v (WC) Arnaud CLEMENT
  4. Flavio CIPOLLA v (8) Andreas SEPPI
  5. Juan Martin DEL POTRO (4) v BYE
  6. Nikolay DAVYDENKO v Andreas BECK
  7. Igor KUNITSYN v (Q) Roberto BAUTISTA-AGUT
  8. Go SOEDA v (5) Richard GASQUET

The bottom half of the draw is:

  1. Ivan LJUBICIC (7) v (WC) Florent SERRA
  2. Paul HENRI-MATHIEU (WC) v Karol BECK
  3. Adrian MANNARINO v (Q) David GOFFIN
  4. BYE v (3) Janko TIPSAREVIC
  5. Alexandr DOLGOPOLOV (6) v Lukas ROSOL
  6. Marco CHIUDINELLI (Q) v Michael LLODRA
  7. Matthias BACHINGER v (Q) Albano OLIVETTI
  8. BYE v (2) Mardy FISH

 OnCourt Advantage supplies all the details YOU need to make it easy to follow tennis, get your tennis tickets and watch men’s and women’s professional tennis on the WTA, ATP Tour and for each Grand Slam tournament all year round.

© photo credit: Qatar Tennis Federation

Previous post:

Next post: